Tuesday, March 19, 2013

Rod Stewart to release aptly-titled 'Time' on May 7

Fans of Rod Stewart have reason to celebrate, with the legendary rocker set to issue his first album of original and self-penned material in two decades...


TIME, Stewart’s Landmark Return To Songwriting After Nearly Two Decades, Features 11 Original Tracks He’s Written and Produced

Worldwide Pre-orders Begin March 19 via iTunes & Amazon, In Stores May 7 on Capitol Records in the United States & Canada

LOS ANGELES -- March, 19 2013 -- Rod Stewart has completed his first album of new material in almost 20 years.  The landmark new album, titled Time marks Stewart’s long-awaited return to his songwriting roots and features 12 tracks, 11 of which he wrote and produced.  “Time” will be released May 7 by Capitol Records and will be available for worldwide pre-order on iTunes (Click here) and Amazon beginning today (Click here).  The iTunes pre-order will also include a deluxe edition with 3 bonus songs including “Legless,” another original Stewart track.

In anticipation, early this morning Capitol Records released an exclusive video featuring portions of seven original new songs set to a montage of never-before-seen videos filmed throughout the making of the album. The video can be viewed at www.rodstewart.com orwww.youtube.com/watch?v=dSn8OzBKthQ.

During an early preview of seven tracks, Billboard proclaimed, “Stewart rocks again.” “Lushly produced with an abundance of tempo and an overall guitar-based core sound, his inimitable warm vocals sound as strong as ever.”

Stewart’s first single, “She Makes Me Happy” premieres on U.S. radio this morning and will available for download at all digital retailers beginning at midnight PDT on March 19.  The iTunes pre-order for Time will launch simultaneously. Fans who pre-order the album on iTunes will instantly receive a download of "She Makes Me Happy.”  In addition, due to the overwhelming anticipation surrounding Stewart’s new album, on April 8th the second track, “Finest Woman,” will also make its U.S. radio premiere.

Time is a landmark release in Stewart's career, born from a burst of inspiration from which he rediscovered his voice as a songwriter and rekindled his gift for writing the honest, nerve-touching narratives that have been the cornerstone to the first three decades of his career.  Since 1991, Stewart, the lyricist and melodist behind such staples as “Tonight’s The Night,” “You Wear It Well,” “You’re In My Heart,” “The Killing of Georgie” and the indelible “Maggie May,” had simply lost his songwriting muse. But, beginning in 2011, during the period he began working on what would become his internationally best-selling autobiography, Rod, it returned. 

Said Stewart, “Something about that process of reviewing my life for the book reconnected me and that was it: I was away. Suddenly ideas for lyrics were piling up in my head.  Next thing I knew, I had a song called ‘It’s Over’ about divorce and separation. And now I was getting up in the middle of the night and scrambling for a pen to write things down, which has never happened to me. I finished seven or eight songs very quickly and I still wasn’t done and it became apparent that I would eventually have a whole album of material to record, which had never happened before.”

“TIME” tracklisting

01 She Makes Me Happy
02 Can't Stop Me Now
03 It's Over
04 Brighton Beach
05 Beautiful Morning
06 Live The Life
07 Finest Woman
08 Time
09 Picture In A Frame
10 Sexual Religion
11 Make Love To Me Tonight
12 Pure Love

“TIME” iTunes Deluxe Edition (Bonus Tracks)
01 Love Has No Pride
02 Corina Corina
03 Legless

Rod Stewart is a two-time inductee into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame, a Grammy Living Legend®, and in 2007 he was bestowed the prestigious CBE (Commander of the British Empire). He has released 27 studio albums and garnered an estimated 150 million in album sales worldwide.  Later this year, Stewart is scheduled kick off his “Live The Life” tour in Europe beginning June 1, followed by his return this July to his residency, “Rod Stewart: The Hits” at Caesars Palace in Las Vegas, before resuming the North American leg of his “Live The Life” tour with Steve Winwood beginning October 17. Click here for tour dates and to purchase tickets.

For Rod Stewart photos and press materials, please visit www.emimusicpublicity.net

Pre-order TIME in the iTunes store: http://smarturl.it/PreOrderTime

No comments: