Monday, February 22, 2021

The Beat Farmers' classic 1985 album 'Tales of the New West' gets deluxe reissue on April 2 via Blixa Sounds

In August 2017 I got to cover the Co-Cal Hoedown festival in Santa Ana, CA and the day's single best performance came via San Diego-spawned cowpunk-roots rockers the Farmers, a direct descendent of the Beat Farmers (you can read my review of the event HERE). Now comes news that the legendary band's 1985 album 'Tales of the New West' is being reissued via a deluxe edition this spring! Here is the media release...Robert Kinsler

The Beat Farmers classic 1985 debut album 'Tales of the New West' getting the deluxe treatment via upcoming reissue from Blixa Sounds

Features a second CD, 'Live at the Spring Valley Inn, 1983.' 

Single LP vinyl to be released on May 7, 2021.

LOS ANGELES, Calif. — The Beat Farmers, one of roots-rock’s most beloved but unsung combos, finally get their due with a deluxe reissue of their classic 1985 debut album, Tales of the New West, out April 2, 2021 from Blixa Sounds.
This deluxe CD reissue features all 12 tracks from the original album released on Rhino Records, as well as a second disc, Live at the Spring Valley Inn, 1983, a 21-song recording of the Beat Farmers on their home turf of San Diego that helped land the band a record deal.
A gatefold package houses the two discs with a 24-page booklet featuring rare photos and other images. Also included are liner notes by the reissue’s producer, Dan Perloff, an early champion who discovered the band while attending San Diego State University and brought them to the attention of Rhino Records executive Gary Stewart.

Tales of the New West 
features the Beat Farmers’ classic lineup of singer-guitarists Jerry Raney and Buddy Blue, bassist Rolle Dexter, and drummer-singer Country Dick Montana. With their trademark double-barreled attack, the Farmers had the unique talent to deliver a mix of earnest roots-rock with killer riffs on originals like Blue’s “Lost Weekend” and Raney’s “Showbiz,” and choice covers of the Velvet Underground's “There She Goes Again” and Bruce Springsteen's “Reason to Believe.” They capped it all off with the over-the-top lunacy of Country Dick on tracks such as “California Kid” and “Happy Boy.”
Steve Berlin of Los Lobos co-produced Tales of the New West, and blows sax on “Showbiz.” Other special guests included Chip and Tony Kinman of Rank & File, Peter Case of the PlimsoulsSid Griffin of the Long Ryders, and the Bangles' Vicki Peterson, as well as future Beat Farmer Joey Harris and “Bigger Stones” songwriter Paul Kamanski.
Following the release of Tales of the New West, the Beat Farmers signed to Curb Records, with Buddy Blue opting to leave the band and Joey Harris stepping in as his replacement. After four albums for Curb/MCA, the Beat Farmers went the indie route, releasing two albums on Sector 2 Records.
Sadly, tragedy struck in November 1995, when Country Dick died on stage, behind his drum kit, while performing in Whistler, British Columbia. The surviving members of the band decided to call it quits but did eventually get back together in a number of different configurations, including some with Buddy Blue back in the fold.
Eventually, the survivors reunited under the moniker of the Farmers, but then tragedy hit once again: Buddy Blue died of a heart attack at his home in La Mesa, California. He was 48.
Still, the Farmers, led by Jerry Raney, continue to play on, with a new lineup intent on keeping the spirit of their fallen comrades in the original Beat Farmers alive and kicking.
“In a perfect world the Beat Farmers would have been huge, but that’s not how the business works,” Perloff writes in the liner notes. “Has this album stood the test of time? In my humble opinion, I believe that the answer is a resounding yes and this album sits high up on the American Roots Rock Pantheon. I feel that it was one of those albums from that period that influenced and helped pave the way for the much larger Americana movement of the 1990s and 2000s, and my view is supported by the album being listed time and again on ‘All Time Top Americana Album’ lists far and wide.”
Track Listing:
CD 1
1. Bigger Stones
2. There She Goes Again
3. Reason to Believe
4. Lost Weekend
5. California Kid
6. Never Goin' Back
7. Goldmine
8. Showbiz
9. Lonesome Hound
10. Where Do They Go
11. Selfish Heart
12. Happy Boy
CD 2
LIVE AT THE SPRING VALLEY INN, 1983 track listing:
1. Never Going Back
2. Trying to Get to You
3. Jump Right Back
4. Lonely Blue Boy
5. Beat Generation
6. Selfish Heart
7. Assembly Line Rock
8. Lonesome Hound
9. Dim Lights, Thick Smoke
            and Loud, Loud Music
10. Big River
11. Showbiz
12. Sloppy Drunk
13. Sunday Morning
14. Reason to Believe
15. Big Rock Candy Mountain
16. Big Ugly Wheels
17. Upsettin' Me
18. I Still Miss Someone
19. Lost Weekend
20. You Can't Judge a Book by
            Its Cover

21. Mondo
Amazon Pre-Order: (Deluxe 2-CD set)
Amazon Pre-Order: (Vinyl)
YouTube Promo Video:

No comments: