Wednesday, June 01, 2022

Sights and Sounds: Omnivore Recordings announces The Hagers’ 'The Complete Capitol Albums' to be released July 22, 2022

Omnivore Recordings continues to reissue some of the most important and overlooked recordings from a diverse number of genres. Look no further than the just announced reissue featuring The Hagers...Robert Kinsler

Omnivore Recordings Announces The Hagers’
The Complete Capitol Albums
To Be Released July 22

The Hagers (1970), Two Hagers Are Better Than One (1970), and Motherhood, Apple Pie & The Flag (1971)
Available on CD and Digital For The First Time

June 1, 2022: On July 22, Omnivore Recordings will release The Complete Capitol Albums by American country duo The Hagers. Jim and John Hager recorded three albums for Capitol Records: The Hagers and Two Hagers Are Better Than One in 1970, and Motherhood, Apple Pie & The Flag the following year. The identical twins also logged a staggering 135 appearances on Hee Haw between 1969 and 1985, and were a concert draw until Jim’s death in 2008 – with his brother passing a mere eight months later in 2009. While all critically acclaimed, and being dubbed “the next big thing” in country music, the albums did not chart as well as expected. But, those who knew country and Buck Owens know they were something special.

Photo: Courtesy of The Buck Owens Private Foundation

The Complete Capitol Albums
collects these sought-after albums, coupling them together on CD for the first time, and debuting them digitally as well. Mastered from the original analog master tape sources by Grammy®-winner Michael Graves, the collection was produced for release by Grammy®-winner Cheryl Pawelski and Grammy®-nominee Randy Poe – author of Buck ‘Em!: The Autobiography Of Buck Owens. In addition to photos of The Hagers, packaging contains liner notes from Poe, as well.

From his liners:

The real reason The Hagers were never able to score a major hit on Capitol Records is impossible to say. Maybe record buyers and radio didn’t take the brothers seriously because of their frequent comedic portrayals on Hee Haw. Perhaps there was some strange stigma attached to the fact that they were twins. Maybe it was their pre-Willie long hair that turned off a late 1960s/early 1970s country audience.

Whatever the actual reason The Hagers failed to sell records in droves, it certainly wasn’t because of a lack of talent. The songs were strong; the production was solid; and the vocals were spot-on. This collection of their Capitol albums is aural proof that the duo knew what they were doing in the studio and confirms that Three Hagers LPs Are Better Than One.

Watch the trailer here:

The Complete Capitol Albums Tracklist:
1. Loneliness Without You
2. I’m Her Fun
3. Tracks (Running Through The City)
4. Your Tender Loving Care
5. I Don’t Wanna Make It
6. Gotta Get To Oklahoma (’Cause California’s Gettin’ To Me)
7. With Lonely
8. I’m Not Going Back To Jackson
9. Give It Time
10. Goin’ Home To Your Mother
11. Silver Wings
12. The Whole World Holding Hands
13. I’m Jesse James
14. Flowers Need Sun, Too
15. Loony Caboose
16. That’s My Love
17. Second Fiddle
18. The Last Time
19. I’m Miles Away
20. Gamblin’ Man
21. Motherhood, Apple Pie And The Flag
22. White Line Fever
23. Silver Threads And Golden Needles
24. Four Strong Winds
25. Ft. Worth Texas
26. Freight Train Fever
27. Break My Mind
28. I’ll Be Your Baby Tonight
29. California On My Mind

30. Back Out On The Road Again

No comments: