Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Rock and Roll Hall of Fame announces class of 2015

Ringo Starr performing at the Santa Barbara Bowl on
July 12, 2014. Photo: Robert Kinsler
It's about time! Ringo Starr is finally going to join his fellow Fab Four mates in the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame. While Starr was previously inducted as a member of The Beatles, he will now be inducted for his stellar solo career too.

The Cleveland-based Rock Hall announced the class of 2015 this morning. In addition to Starr, who is receiving a special Award for Excellence, the other inductees include rocker Joan Jett, Bill WithersStevie Ray Vaughan and Double Trouble, Lou Reed, Green Day, and the Paul Butterfield Blues Band.

Those six artists were selected from a list of 15 nominees. Sadly not getting into the Rock Hall next spring are The Smiths, a band I consider to be one of the most influential groups to emerge in the 1980s. N.W.A., Nine Inch Nails and Chic also didn't make the cut.

The upcoming Rock and Roll Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony will be held in Cleveland, Ohio on Saturday, April 18, 2015. The event is open to the public, and tickets can be purchased beginning at 10 a.m. (Eastern Time) on Dec. 18, 2014. This will be the 30th induction ceremony.

Information: www.rockhall.com/

1 comment:

newwavegeo said...

Glad to see Joan Jett and Green Day get into the '15 class!