Tuesday, December 17, 2013

Inbox Update: 'The Wolf of Wall Street' soundtrack; Mindy Smith

If it's Tuesday, you know there is music news. I'm especially excited that 7Horse is getting some widespread attention via the release of 'The Wolf of Wall Street' soundtrack. Here is the latest roundup of gems pulled from my inbox...


Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings, Who Appear in the Film, 
Contribute Exclusive Recording of "Goldfinger"

Soundtrack Also Includes 7Horse's "Meth Lab Zoso Sticker," Plus Classic Tracks by Bo Diddley, Billy Joel, Howlin' Wolf, Eartha Kitt, Malcolm McLaren, Romeo Void, The Lemonheads, Allen Toussaint and Many Others

The Wolf of Wall Street, Directed by Martin Scorsese and Starring Academy Award® Nominee Leonardo DiCaprio, Opens December 25

Virgin Records will release The Wolf of Wall Street - Music from the Motion Picture digitally on December 17, with the physical release to follow on January 7, 2014. 
Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings' cover of "Goldfinger" is exclusive to the soundtrack and was recorded at Daptone House of Soul in Brooklyn. Cast as a wedding band, Jones & the Dap-Kings can be seen performing the track in the film. ("Goldfinger" - written by John Barry, Leslie Bricusse and Anthony Newley - was originally performed by Shirley Bassey as the title track of the iconic 1964 James Bond film.) "Meth Lab Zoso Sticker" by 7Horse, the new project from dada's Joie Calio and Phil Leavitt, also appears on the soundtrack.
In The Wolf of Wall Street, revered filmmaker Martin Scorsese directs the story of New York stockbroker Jordan Belfort (Leonardo DiCaprio). From the American dream to corporate greed, Belfort goes from penny stocks and righteousness to IPOs and a life of corruption in the late 80s and early 90s.  Excess success and affluence in his early twenties as founder of the brokerage firm Stratton Oakmont warranted Belfort the title - "The Wolf of Wall Street."  Named as one of the Top 10 films of the year by critics at Rolling Stone and The New YorkerThe Wolf of Wall Street was nominated for a Golden Globe® award for Best Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy and DiCaprio was nominated for Best Actor in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy for his role as Belfort.
In addition to the two contemporary recordings, the soundtrack is packed with mid-20th century classics, including two tracks by Bo Diddley ("Pretty Thing" and "Road Runner"), Howlin' Wolf's "Smokestack Lightning," Eartha Kitt's "C'est Si Bon" and Allen Toussaint's "Cast Your Fate To The Wind," plus Billy Joel's "Movin' Out," Romeo Void's "Never Say Never," Malcolm McLaren's "Double Dutch," The Lemonheads' rendition of the Paul Simon-penned "Mrs. Robinson" and much more. See below for the complete track listing.
Randall Poster is the Music Supervisor for the soundtrack. The Wolf of Wall Street marks the third film on which Poster has worked with director Scorsese. The two worked together on The Aviator and Hugo and Mr. Scorsese also asked Poster to oversee the music on the award winning "Boardwalk Empire" for HBO. Poster won a GRAMMY® Award for Best Compilation Soundtrack for Visual Media for producing Volume 1 of the "Boardwalk Empire" soundtrack.
Robbie Robertson - who has collaborated with Scorsese on numerous films, including Raging Bull, The King of Comedy, The Color Of Money, Casino, Gangs of New York, The Departed and Shutter Island - served as Executive Music Producer of the soundtrack. A Rock and Roll Hall of Fame inductee and winner of a GRAMMY Lifetime Achievement Award, Robertson was the primary songwriter for The Band, penning Americana classics like "The Weight" and "Up on Cripple Creek." Scorsese's The Last Waltz documented The Band's farewell concert.
Paramount Pictures and Red Granite Pictures present an Appian Way and Sikelia Production and an Emjag Production of a Martin Scorsese film. The Wolf of Wall Street stars Leonardo DiCaprio alongside Jonah Hill, Margot Robbie, Matthew McConaughey, Kyle Chandler, Rob Reiner, Jon Favreau, and Jean Dujardin. The film is directed by Martin Scorsese, from a screenplay by Terence Winter, based upon the book by Jordan Belfort, and produced by Martin Scorsese, Leonardo DiCaprio, Riza Aziz, Joey McFarland and Emma Koskoff. For more information on the film, visithttp://www.thewolfofwallstreet.com/.
The Wolf of Wall Street - Music from the Motion Picture - Available Here:

Track Listing - The Wolf of Wall Street - Music from the Motion Picture  
1. Mercy, Mercy, Mercy! - Cannonball Adderley
2. Dust My Broom - Elmore James
3. Bang! Bang! - Joe Cuba
4. Movin' Out (Anthony's Song) - Billy Joel
5. C'est Si Bon - Eartha Kitt
6. Goldfinger - Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
7. Pretty Thing - Bo Diddley
8. Moonlight In Vermont - Ahmad Jamal Trio
9. Smokestack Lightning - Howlin' Wolf
10. Hey Leroy, Your Mama's Callin' You - Jimmy Castor
11. Double Dutch - Malcolm McLaren
12. Never Say Never - Romeo Void
13. Meth Lab Zoso Sticker - 7Horse
14. Road Runner - Bo Diddley
15. Mrs. Robinson - The Lemonheads
16.Cast Your Fate To The Wind - Allen Toussaint

“The Nashville-based singer-songwriter’s 2007 album “My Holiday” remains one of the most unassumingly moving holiday albums, and her new five-song EP makes an excellent companion.” –Los Angeles Times
“…Smith shows off a vocal range that reaffirms her place as one of alt-country’s most beautiful vocalists. This EP is a winner.” –Engine 145
 “It’s sweet and humble, like the best Christmas discs should be.” –Knoxville News Sentinel
“… glistening new holiday EP.” –Boston Globe
Critically acclaimed singer/songwriter Mindy Smith’s video for “Auld Lang Syne” premiered today at USA Today.com: http://usat.ly/19atRhi. A fan-generated photo album, Smith solicited pictures from fans to compile the video, which celebrates those we love and those we will never forget.
Featured on her second holiday effort, Snowed In (Giant Leap/TVX Records), “Auld Lang Syne” is one of three standards on the five-song EP which also includes two original compositions, “Tomorrow Is Christmas Day” and the title track. Snowed In is available at all online digital outlets and at www.mindysmithmusic.com.
Co-produced with Steve Buckingham, who co-produced Smith’s first three critically acclaimed efforts, the EP was recorded and mixed by Ed Seay at LOUD Recording in Nashville, TN, and features some of Nashville ‘s best players, including Lex Price (mandolin), Brent Mason (guitar), Michael Rhodes (bass), Eddie Bayers (drums, percussion), John Hobbs (Piano, B-3, Fender Rhodes), and Andrea Zonn (viola).
After successful weekend performances at the Grand Ole Opry and the Franklin Theatre in Nashville, Smith will perform a live stream StageIt concert December 19, to benefit The Dave Thomas Foundation. To buy an exclusive ticket, visit:
StageIt is online-only performances where artists perform and interact live with fans. The Dave Thomas Foundation for Adoption is a not-for-profit organization dedicated to finding adoptive homes for children waiting in North America’s foster care system.
“As an adopted child myself, I was so fortunate to grow up in the most loving family a kid could ever have,” Smith noted. “However, I know there are millions of children out there waiting for their miracle of being adopted.”
Since she charmed fans with her rendition of “Jolene” featured on the much-praised Dolly Parton tribute album, Just Because I’m A Woman, and the release of her 2004 debut, One Moment More, Smith has sold nearly half-a-million albums, including Mindy Smith, her self-released fifth album. She subsequently released Long Island Shores (Vanguard, 2006), My Holiday (Vanguard, 2007) and Stupid Love (Vanguard, 2009).
1.     Tomorrow Is Christmas Day*
2.     What Child Is This
3.     Snowed In*
4.     Silent Night
5.     Auld Lang Syne

*Original composition

No comments: