Wednesday, January 08, 2014

Inbox Update: Cracker Barrel Old Country Store® will release Bakersfield: Deluxe Edition on Jan. 27, 2014

Americana and country music fans will want to get their copy of this release later this month!

Cracker Barrel Old Country Store® Will Release Bakersfield: Deluxe Edition, an Exclusive and Expanded Version of the Critically-Acclaimed Vince Gill and Paul Franklin Album, on January 27

Beginning Today, the 14-Song CD will be Available for Pre-Order at

Cracker Barrel Old Country Store® will release Bakersfield: Deluxe Edition, an exclusive and expanded edition of the critically-acclaimed album from 20x GRAMMY Award-winning artist Vince Gill and famed steel guitarist, Paul Franklin, on Monday, Jan. 27, 2014. The album pays tribute to the “Bakersfield” sound by performing songs from two of Bakersfield’s favorite musical sons, Buck Owens and Merle Haggard.Bakersfield: Deluxe Edition will contain four additional songs (for a total of 14) and will retail for $11.99 at all Cracker Barrel Old Country Store® locations and online at One day later, the digital version of Bakersfield: Deluxe Edition will be available for purchase via iTunes and on Tuesday, Jan. 28.
Beginning today, Cracker Barrel Old Country Store® will offer Bakersfield: Deluxe Edition CDs for pre-order exclusively at All CDs sold during the pre-order period will be shipped to purchasers on Jan. 27, the official day of release.
Gill and Franklin shared producing duties on the album and were backed by a stellar band made up of John Hobbs on piano; Greg Morrow on drums; Willie Weeks and Brad Albin on bass; J. T. Corenflos on electric rhythm guitar; and Time Jumpers Kenny Sears, Larry Franklin, and Joe Spivey on fiddles and Dawn Sears on harmony vocals. Gill played all the acoustic and electric guitar fills and solos.
“This project has been a labor of love for me and Paul,” said Gill, a member of the Country Music Hall of Fame. “Paul and I both love the ‘Bakersfield’ sound that Buck and Merle represent. We are excited that Cracker Barrel Old Country Store® approached us to create this special Deluxe Edition of Bakersfield because it allowed us to go back and record some additional songs we think everyone will enjoy.”
“I’ve said it before, but I’ll say it again: this may be Vince’s greatest project,” Franklin declares. “What a showcase! I’ve heard him sing for 30 years, but he sings licks on this record I never heard before.”
“We are proud to offer the exclusive Bakersfield: Deluxe Edition album from Vince and Paul to our guests,” said Cracker Barrel Old Country Store Marketing Manager Julie Craig. “We hope our guests, as well as music lovers everywhere, will be excited that Vince and Paul could dip back into that well and add four additional songs to what is already a classic album.”
Full track listing for Bakersfield: Deluxe Edition:
Made Famous By
1. “Foolin’ Around”
Buck Owens (Written by Harlan Howard and Buck Owens)
2. “Branded Man”
Merle Haggard (Written by Merle Haggard)
3. “Together Again”Buck Owens (Written by Buck Owens)
4. “The Bottle Let Me Down”Merle Haggard (Written by Merle Haggard)
5. “He Don’t Deserve You Anymore”Buck Owens (Written by Arty Lange and Buck Owens)
6. “I Can’t Be Myself”Merle Haggard (Written by Merle Haggard)
7. “Nobody’s Fool But Yours”Buck Owens (Written by Buck Owens)
8. “Holding Things Together”Merle Haggard (Written by Bob Trotten and Merle Haggard)
9. “But I Do”Buck Owens (Written by Tommy Collins)
10. “The Fightin’ Side of Me”Merle Haggard (Written by Merle Haggard)
11. “Your Tender Loving Care”*Buck Owens (Written by Buck Owens)
12. “Buckin’ Merle”*Instrumental (Written by Vince Gill)
13. “I Threw Away the Rose”*
Merle Haggard (Written by Merle Haggard)
14. “High on a Hilltop”*Merle Haggard (written by Tommy Collins)
(*) Denotes exclusive tracks for the expanded album available through Cracker Barrel Old Country Store®.
One of the four additional tracks on Bakersfield: Deluxe Edition is the instrumental “Buckin’ Merle,” which Gill wrote as a tribute to Haggard and Owens and the “Bakersfield” sound.
The original version of Bakersfield was released by MCA Nashville on July 13, 2013 and debuted at No. 4 on the Billboard Top Country Albums Chart. National Public Radio (NPR) recently named it one of their Top Ten Albums of 2013.
About the Cracker Barrel Old Country Store® Exclusive Music Program
Vince Gill and Paul Franklin’s Bakersfield: Deluxe Edition is the latest CD release in the Cracker Barrel Old Country Store® exclusive music program. Since 2005, Cracker Barrel has released CDs with a wide variety of artists, some of which have debuted in the top three spots on a range of Billboard’s charts including Top DVD Music Videos, Top Country Albums, Top Contemporary Christian Albums and Top Bluegrass Albums. The Cracker Barrel Old Country Store® exclusive music program includes CDs with Alabama, Rodney Atkins, Mandy Barnett, Clint Black, Jason Michael Carroll, Steven Curtis Chapman, Dailey & Vincent, The Charlie Daniels Band, Ronnie Dunn, Edens Edge, Sara Evans, Bill Gaither, Montgomery Gentry, Amy Grant, The Grascals, Merle Haggard, Alan Jackson, George Jones, Alison Krauss & Union Station, Russell Moore & IIIrd Tyme Out , Craig Morgan, The Oak Ridge Boys, Brad Paisley, Dolly Parton, Smokey Robinson, Kenny Rogers, Ricky Skaggs, Aaron Tippin, Randy Travis, Josh Turner, Wynonna and the Zac Brown Band. For details, visit
About Cracker Barrel Old Country Store, Inc.
Cracker Barrel Old Country Store, Inc. provides a friendly home-away-from-home in its old country stores and restaurants. Guests are cared for like family while relaxing and enjoying real home-style food and shopping that’s surprisingly unique, genuinely fun and reminiscent of America’s country heritage…all at a fair price. Cracker Barrel Old Country Store, Inc. (CBRL) was established in 1969 in Lebanon, Tenn. and operates 625 company-owned locations in 42 states. For more information, visit

No comments: