Monday, August 19, 2013

Susanna Hoffs and Matthew Sweet to explore '80s on third 'Covers' disc

Susanna Hoffs and Matthew Sweet
Susanna Hoffs and Matthew Sweet have released two wonderful decade-centric discs, 2006's Under the Covers, Vol. 1 which had the duo covering reworked gems from the 1960s, while an equally-fine set issued in 2009 Under the Covers, Vol. 2 revisited the 1970s. 
Now comes word from Shout! Factory that the musical duo will take aim at the 1980s on Under the Covers, Vol. 3, set for release on Nov. 12, 2013.
As was the case in the first two 'Covers' albums, Sid 'n Susie have taken an interesting journey in terms of exploring a wide range of songs to remake. I can't wait to hear how the two work their magic on classic tunes from R.E.M., Tom Petty, The English Beat and The Smiths.
Billboard has posted an in-depth article, which includes the ability to listen to the pair's remake of the Go-Go's "Our Lips Are Sealed." Click here to read the story and hear the exclusive track.

The full track list for "Under the Covers, Vol. 3" includes:
1.      Sitting Still (R.E.M.)
2.      Girls Talk (Dave Edmunds)
3.      Big Brown Eyes (The dB's)
4.      Kid (Pretenders)
5.      Free Fallin’ (Tom Petty)
6.      Save It For Later (The English Beat)
7.      They Don’t Know (Kirsty MacColl)
8.      The Bulrushes (The Bongos)
9.      Our Lips Are Sealed (The Go-Go’s)
10.   How Soon Is Now (The Smiths)
11.   More Than This (Roxy Music)
12.   Towers of London (XTC)
13.   Killing Moon (Echo and the Bunnymen)
14.   Trouble (Lindsey Buckingham)
Bonus Tracks on iTunes Deluxe Version:
* Train in Vain (the Clash)
* You’re My Favorite Waste of Time (Marshall Crenshaw)
* I Would Die 4 U (Prince)

No comments: