Thursday, June 02, 2016

Sights and Sounds: Prince, U2, Aaron Neville

Prince performing at the Pantages Theater in Los Angeles in
April 1997.  Photo credit: Kelly A. Swift
Lots of news to share...

I saw this on Yahoo! today and had to share. How sad that it took the death of Prince earlier this year to set Billboard ablaze...

The news came out a while back, but a timely reminder is in order. U2's iNNOCENCE + eXPERIENCE Live In Paris arrives on Blu-ray (you can see the cover of the Blu-ray immediately below), DVD and digital download on Friday, June 10.

Directed by Hamish Hamilton, the 2.5 hour film features the Irish band performing 30 tracks including a guest performance by Eagles of Death Metal. Bonus content on deluxe formats features a Patti Smith performance as well as Gavin Friday's guide to "Cedarwood Road," behind-the-scenes with Hamilton, and multiple on-stage tour films and music videos.

U2's iNNOCENCE + eXPERIENCE Tour kicked off in Vancouver, Canada in May 2015. I got to catch one of the tour's first concert dates in Phoenix on May 22, 2015 (you can read my review of the concert here). The upcoming DVD/Blu-ray release features a number of great songs, including recent material such as "Song for Someone," "Cedarwood Road" and the beautiful "Every Breaking Wave." Of course, U2 also covers classics such as "Sunday Bloody Sunday," "Until The End of the World," "Beautiful Day" and "I Will Follow."
U2's upcoming 'iNNOCENCE + eXPERIENCE Live In
Paris' is available in a number of formats.

You can get more information and get a glimpse at the release here.

Purchase iNNOCENCE + eXPERIENCE Live in Paris (Super Deluxe) here

Buy iNNOCENCE + eXPERIENCE Live in Paris [Blu-ray] here

Finally, I just received a media release that Aaron Neville is set to release his new album titled Apache on July 15, 2016.

The lead track, "Be Your Man," is having its premiere on The Wall Street Journal Web site.

Apache, the new album from multiple Grammy award-winner Aaron Neville—member of the world-renowned Neville Brothers and one of the most recognizable voices in American music history—set for release on July 15 via Tell It Records and Kobalt Label Services. The album celebrates Neville’s 75th birthday, while 2016 marks the 50th anniversary of his first number one single, “Tell It Like It Is.” Additionally, the lead track off the record, “Be Your Man,” premieres on The Wall Street Journal. Listen here: Fans can buy it via iTunes here and stream it here

In support of the record, Neville will tour nationwide this summer with a very special performance at the historic Apollo Theater celebrating his 75th birthday and 50th anniversary of the release of “Tell It Like It Is" on August 4 in New York City, as well as intimate dates in Baton Rouge, Chicago, San Francisco, Austin, Atlanta and more. Below is the track listing for Apache:

1.     Be Your Man
2.     All Of The Above
3.     Orchid In The Storm
4.     Stompin’ Ground
5.     Heaven
6.     Hard To Believe
7.     Ain’t Gonna Judge You
8.     I Wanna Love You
9.     Sarah Ann
10.  Make Your Momma Cry
11.  Fragile World

Neville was one of the headliners at last month's Doheny Blues Festival in Dana Point, CA. Read George A. Paul's review of Neville's performance here.

Robert Kinsler

1 comment:

George Paul said...

Thanks for the review shout out!