Thursday, March 12, 2015

Sights and Sounds: Shania Twain, Record Store Day update, TJR "solo reviews"

Here is a roundup of today's music news...I'll continue to feature Record Store Day updates (a few included in this post) in the days and weeks ahead too!

Shania Twain to release 'Shania: Still The One Live From Vegas' on DVD and Blu-ray via Eagle Rock Entertainment

International superstar Shania Twain wrapped up her successful two-year residency in Las Vegas, NV as her SHANIA: Still the One stage show came to a close in December. The five-time GRAMMY winner entertained concert-goers from all over the world at the Colosseum at Caesars Palace during the course of her 105 performances and now, fans have an opportunity to bring the Vegas production home with the release of Twain’s live Blu-ray and DVD SHANIA: Still the One Live from Vegas via Eagle Rock Entertainment on April 7, 2015. 

Produced by Twain and directed by Raj Kapoor, Live from Vegas captures the full SHANIA: Still the One stage performance, plus the bonus feature “Backstage Pass,” which boasts over an hour of never-before-seen behind-the-scenes footage tracking the conception, training, rehearsals, costumes and all decisions in-between that go into creating a one-of-a-kind experience for the audience. The show – a powerful journey through Shania’s biggest hits, country favorites, and beloved crossover songs – features a 13-piece live band, dancers, trained horses, a flying motorcycle and plenty of Vegas flash.

“This show has been my labor of love for over three years,” shares Twain. “It has meant so much to me and was such a privilege to live out my visions on that stage, and it is so exciting to now get to share the whole experience with the fans all over the world!”

With more than 75 million albums sold worldwide and U.S. sales topping 34.5 million, Twain remains the top-selling female country artist of all time. Her 1997 release Come On Over has sold in excess of 15.6 million making it the top-selling country album and places it in the Top 10 all-genre best sellers of all time.

For more information, visit

SHANIA: Still the One Live from Vegas Track Listing:

  1.  Opening
  2.  I’m Gonna Getcha Good!
  3.  You Win My Love
  4.  Don’t Be Stupid (You Know I Love You)
  5. Up!
  6.  Good, Bad And Sexy (Interlude)
  7.  I Ain’t No Quitter
  8.  No One Needs To Know
  9.  Whose Bed Have Your Boots Been Under?
  10.  Any Man of Mine
  11.  Shania Style (Interlude)
  12.  That Don’t Impress Me Much
  13.  Honey, I’m Home
  14.  (If You’re Not In It For Love) I’m Outta Here
  15.  Carrie Anne
  16.  Come On Over
  17.  Love Gets Me Every Time
  18.  Rock This Country!
  19.  Today Is Your Day
  20.  Black Horse, White Horse (Interlude)
  21.  You’re Still The One
  22.  From This Moment On
  23.  Red Storm (Interlude)
  24.  Man! I Feel Like A Woman!
  25.  Rock This Country!  (Live From Calgary) – Credits 

Record Store Update
With Record Store Day's arrival on Saturday, April 18, 2015, it's no surprise I've been getting a ton of news releases related to the music-centric event. Record Store Day celebrates the culture of the independently owned record store and brings together artists, fans and thousands of independent record stores across the world. This is the first of many updates I'll post on this site over the next month.

Kenny Wayne Shepherd Band to release special EP
The KWSBand's latest release is a special one day event. A Little Something From the Road, Vol. 1 (EP) on CD and vinyl for Record Store Day, April 18, 2015. Recorded live at the State Theater in New Brunswick, New Jersey, A Little Something From The Road, Vol. 1 recordings were culled from the extensive 2014 tour following the release of the band's last studio album, Goin' Home. 

Merge Records artists to perform in Durham, NC on Record Store Day
Record Store Day is one of our favorite days of the year. To celebrate RSD 2015, Merge artists Ex HexMac McCaughan, and William Tyler will treat us to live performances outside Bull City Records in Durham. Lagunitas Brewing Company will be on site, and we will be collecting donations to benefit Durham Public Schools via
The whole event is free, open to the public, and will be live-streamed on WXDU and archived by NYCTaper. Tell your friends and RSVP at the event's Facebook page.
Saturday, April 18
3–6 p.m.
Chaz’s Bull City Records
2600 Hillsborough Road, Durham, NC
Rain or shine
Whether or not you can make it to our party, be sure to visit your local record shop on April 18 and pick up our special Records Store Day release, the limited-edition double-LP reissue of William Tyler’s Deseret Canyon, formerly available only as an import under Tyler’s old moniker The Paper Hats.
This event is sponsored by Merge Records, Bull City RecordsMailChimpLagunitasWXDUNYCTaperCocoa Cinnamon, and SpeeDeeQue Printing

Pianos Become the Teeth to issue special vinyl 7"
Pianos Become the Teeth will release a limited edition Record Store Day 7" on colored vinyl with two tracks from the sessions for their acclaimed Keep You album. The two previously unreleased songs featured on the 7", entitled Close, are "895" and "Dancing". A video for "895" is forthcoming.
As previously reported, Baltimore melodic post-hardcore band Pianos Become the Teeth announced a headlining spring tour with Loma Prietaand Gates joining as support. Pianos Become the Teeth tour in support of their critically-lauded 2014 Epitaph release, Keep You.

TJR solo reviews worth a listen...

My Music Worth Buying co-host TJR has several timely reviews on recent releases worth catching via our YouTube channel, including the latest album releases from Kate Pierson and Kid Rock. I have also made things easy and embedded one of his episodes below. Enjoy!

No comments: