Thursday, July 03, 2014

Oasis' '(What's The Story) Morning Glory' set for deluxe release on September 30

Liam Gallagher & Noel Gallagher - Photo By Stefan de Batselier
Going into the long holiday weekend, there is some especially exciting news for fans of Oasis. The second in the Oasis: Chasing The Sun series is set for release on Sept. 30 via Big Brother Recordings.

(What's The Story) Morning Glory?, the band's biggest selling studio disc, gets the deluxe treatment this time, with the first reissue in the series, Definitely Maybe, having entered the UK album chart at No. 5 and selling almost 20,000 copies in its first week of release. 

Here is the official media release:


  • Standard CD & digital download
  • Special Edition 3 x CD & digital download
  • 12" vinyl LP (with digital download bundle of all bonus CD content)
  • Deluxe Box Set (including LP, Deluxe CD, exclusive 7", 12" & merchandise).

The second in the new Oasis: Chasing The Sun series, (What's The Story) Morning Glory?, will be released on 30th September on Big Brother Recordings. Demand for the legendary Manchester band remains as strong as ever: the first reissue in the series, Definitely Maybe, recently entered the UK album chart at No.5, selling almost 20,000 copies in its first week. A large proportion of sales have been on vinyl, making it one of the biggest selling 12" records of 2014 so far. The accompanying exhibition of rare photo's and memorabiliaChasing The Sun: Oasis 1993 - 1997 attracted over 40,000 visitors to a Shoreditch gallery in April. 

Each Chasing The Sun series album release is remastered and available with rare and exclusive bonus content. (What's The Story) Morning Glory? has been remastered from the original tapes by Ian Cooper at London's Metropolis Studios, supervised by the album's producer Owen Morris. A small army of contributors, including original members of the inner circle who were involved in studio and live recordings, came together to hunt down unheard demos and live material. The team also unearthed a wealth of never-seen-before photos and vintage memorabilia, which will be included in the new artwork. 

(What's The Story) Morning Glory? is available on standard CD & digital download, Special Edition 3 x CD & digital download, 12" vinyl LP (with digital download bundle of all bonus CD content), & Deluxe Box Set (including LP, Special Edition CD, 7" of an exclusive demo, replication of an original 12" promo & merchandise).

The follow-up to Oasis's 1994 debut album Definitely Maybe(What's The Story) Morning Glory? was recorded between May and June 1995 in Rockfield Studios, Monmouthshire, with Owen Morris and Noel Gallagher producing. Released on October 2nd 1995, it sold a record-breaking (at the time) 347,000 copies in its first week. The album spent 10 weeks at No.1 in the UK, and is Oasis's most commercially successful, with 22 million copies sold worldwide to date, including 4 million in the US. 

(What's The Story) Morning Glory? features many of Oasis's biggest hit singles, including Don't Look Back In AngerWonderwallSome Might Say, and Roll With It, and won the Best Album at the 1996 Brit Awards, with Oasis also taking Best British Group and Best Video awards.

It was during the Morning Glory? era when Oasis played their some of their most iconic gigs, including two nights at Maine Road Stadium, the then home of Manchester City Football Club, in April 1996, and Knebworth House, where the band played to 250,000 fans over two nights in August 1996. Over 2.6 million people applied for tickets for the shows, making it the largest ever demand for concert tickets in British history.

Each brand new edition of the album includes a re-mastered version of the original. The Special Edition CD and  Deluxe Box Set include two CDs of all the B-sides plus rare and unreleased Oasis tracks from the Morning Glory era. The Deluxe Box Set format comes with new sleeve notes by respected rock critic Neil McCormick.

Highlights of the bonus content include:
  • Previously unheard demos of She's Electric and Rockin' Chair recorded at Mark Coyle's Manchester studio Demos of Some Might SayHey Now, and Boneheads Bank Holidayrecorded by Mark Coyle for the first time at the band's soundcheck, Club Quattro in Tokyo in September 1994
  • Live recordings from legendary gigs such as Knebworth House, Maine Road Stadium, Earls Court, and Bath Pavilion
  • All of the Morning Glory singles acclaimed B-sides including Talk TonightAcquiesceThe Masterplan, and Underneath The Sky

Oasis: (What's The Story) Morning Glory? Chasing The Sun Edition tracklistings:

Disc 1:
  1. Hello
  2. Roll With It
  3. Wonderwall
  4. Don't Look Back In Anger
  5. Hey Now!
  6. (untitled)
  7. Some Might Say
  8. Cast No Shadow
  9. She's Electric
  10. Morning Glory
  11. (untitled)
  12. Champagne Supernova
Disc 2:
  1. Talk Tonight 
  2. Acquiesce 
  3. Headshrinker
  4. It's Better People
  5. Rockin' Chair
  6. Step Out
  7. Underneath The Sky
  8. Cum On Feel The Noize
  9. Round Are Way 
  10. The Swamp Song
  11. The Masterplan
  12. Bonehead's Bank Holiday
  13. Champagne Supernova (Brendan Lynch Mix)
  14. You've Got To Hide Your Love Away
Disc 3
  1. Acquiesce (Live At Earls Court)
  2. Some Might Say (Demo)     
  3. Some Might Say (Live at Roskilde)
  4. She's Electric (Demo)
  5. Talk Tonight (Live At Bath Pavilion)
  6. Rockin' Chair (Demo)
  7. Hello (Live At Roskilde)
  8. Roll With It (Live At Roskilde)
  9. Morning Glory (Live At Roskilde)
  10. Hey Now (Demo)
  11. Bonehead's Bank Holiday (Demo)  
  12. Round Are Way (MTV Unplugged)
  13. Cast No Shadow (Live At Maine Road)
  14. The Masterplan (Live At Knebworth Park)
For more information on all things Oasis, visit the band's Web site at

No comments: