Wednesday, May 14, 2014

Corb Lund's "Counterfeit Blues" recorded at Sun Studio to be released July 1 on New West Records

Very excited to be introduced to Corb Lund's authentic and original brand of songcraft at the Stagecoach Festival in Indio, California last month. This media release just landed in my inbox today...




'Counterfeit Blues' is due out July 1 in the U.S.
LOS ANGELES, CA, May 14, 2014 - A spirited set of rockabilly, rock n' roll and honky tonk country, Corb Lund's Counterfeit Blues, due June 17 in Canada and July 1 in the U.S. via New West Records, was recorded live, off the floor, at Sun Studio in Memphis, Tenn. in much the same way Elvis Presley and Johnny Cash did 60 years before in that same room. Lund and his band the Hurtin' Albertans recorded the rousing collection over a breakneck two days resulting in an album that as Lund puts it is "raw, organic and dirty."

"It turned out really well," Lund exclaims. "Partly because we know the songs inside out and have played them live a thousand times and partly because recording at Sun is a very old fashioned, low-tech process that ends up sounding really great if you can pull it off. My band has been playing behind me for ten years or more, with all the same members so it was a great way to capture the live chemistry we've developed over many, many tours. You can't fake that."

Armed with just a couple guitars, some mics, a pedal steel guitar, stand-up bass, drums and the amps they plugged into, the foursome eschewed studio trickery for the lightning in a bottle approach and blasted through 12 songs with a confidence and swagger that can only come from years of playing together. The end result serves as both an exciting introduction to the acclaimed band for the uninitiated and as a fun must-have for the fans.

Counterfeit Blues will be available on CD, vinyl and digital download as well as a special two-disc CD/DVD set comprised of the documentary "Memphis Sun," which originally aired this past December on CMT Canada. The film documents the band's journey from the north of Alberta to the south of Memphis for the two-day recording session in the hallowed ground where rock and roll was born. The DVD will feature three bonus tracks - "Bucking Horse Rider," "Good Copenhagen," and "Shine Up My Boots" - that were not on the original hour-long broadcast.

Lund and his band just played the Stagecoach Music Festival in Southern California and are currently wrapping up their Spring Thaw tour of the Western U.S. and Canada. The fourth-generation rancher and former frontman of the punk/metal band The Smalls has been a road warrior since releasing his album Cabin Fever in 2012, which shot to #1 in Canada and earned him significant new fans in the U.S and abroad. Over the last couple years he has played upwards of 200 shows throughout North America, including opening an arena date for self-professed fans Miranda Lambert and Dierks Bentley, a tour with friend Hayes Carll, who co-wrote and duets on the hilarious stand out "Bible on the Dash," a showcase at SXSW and tours in Australia, New Zealand and all across Europe. 

A Juno Award winner (Canadian Grammys) who has multiple Canadian Gold Records to his name, he has played on bills, at festivals, and special events with The Who, Emmylou Harris and Robert Plant, Keith Urban, Tim McGraw, James Taylor, and Joni Mitchell. He has also won the Canadian Country Music Awards Roots Artist of the Year eight times running. Cabin Fever made the Polaris Prize longlist and has received raves from the likes of NPRUncut (9 out of 10) the New York Times and the Washington Post, which exclaimed:"Lund is a revelation, laconic and scary smart, with a devil's eye for details."

Lund is currently working on his ninth studio album for release in 2015.

Counterfeit Blues Track List
1.  Counterfeiters' Blues
2.  Good Copenhagen
3. Big Butch Bass Bull Fiddle
4. Hair In My Eyes Like A Highland Steer
5. Little Foothills Heaven
6. Five Dollar Bill
7. Buckin' Horse Rider
8. Hurtin' Albertan
9. (Gonna) Shine Up My Boots
10. Truck Got Stuck
11. Roughest Neck Around
12.  Truth Comes Out

"Memphis Sun" DVD Track List
1. Hurtin' Albertan
2. No Roads Here
3. Little Foothills Heaven
4. Counterfeiters' Blues
5. Roughest Neck Around
6. Big Butch Bass Bull Fiddle
7. Hair In My Eyes Like A Highland Steer
8. Truck Got Stuck
9. Truth Comes Out
10. Five Dollar Bill

1. Buckin' Horse Rider
2. Good Copenhagen
3. (Gonna) Shine Up My Boots

No comments: