Monday, October 07, 2013

Inbox update: William Shatner, Saga, Manraze

Here is the latest roundup of exciting news releases that have landed in my inbox over the weekend and through this morning...

William Shatner Music Video 'Ponder The Mystery' To Premier On AXS TV – Tuesday, October 8, 2013

Los Angeles, CA - To coincide with the release of his highly anticipated new CD, William Shatner's Ponder The Mystery video will make its debut on the AXS Network on Tuesday, October 8, 2013 at 4 p.m. PST! The video was directed by William Shatner and Kevin Layne and produced by David Zappone. The exclusive TV premier will be on the 'AXS Live' show, hosted by Ryan Stout, on the new national cable network AXS TV (founded by Dallas Mavericks billionaire owner Mark Cuban). From the hottest viral videos to the biggest names in music 'AXS Live' is your cheat sheet to the day's biggest trends to keep you in the entertainment know.

For more information:

Guitar icon Steve Vai, who performs on the album's eponymous single, declares, “It was an absolute hoot to play on Bill’s track. It’s great to see and hear that after all these years his contributions are still fresh!”

On Tuesday October 7, William Shatner will be doing an album signing at Amoeba Records on Sunset Blvd in Los Angeles. For more info:

William Shatner will be performing his new record Ponder the Mystery in its entirety accompanied by the prog band CIRCA: featuring Billy Sherwood and Tony Kaye, famed keyboardist also known for his work with YES.

Performance dates and locations:
Wednesday, October 23, 2013: Saint Rocke, 142 E. Pacific Coast Hwy, Hermosa, CA 90254 (310-372-0035)
Thursday, October 24, 2013: The Canyon Club, 289 12 Roadside Dr., Agoura, CA 91301 (818-879-5016)
Friday, October 25, 2013: The Coach House, 33157 Camino Capistrano, San Juan Capistrano, CA 92675 (949-496-8930)

Purchase Ponder The Mystery CD at Amazon:

Download the album at iTunes:

To Release Spin It Again – Live In Munich In US and Canada via earMUSIC / Eagle Rock Entertainment
~November 5, 2013~
New York, NY (October 7, 2013)—earMUSIC / Eagle Rock Entertainment and Saga are proud to announce the release of Spin It Again - Live in Munich, a live 2CD and Blu-ray that captures the final night of the 2013 sold-out tour by the Canadian band in Germany, following the release of their critically acclaimed album 20/20 (earMUSIC) 
Spin it Again, recorded and filmed in Munich, features recent songs as well as all the Saga classics: “Wind Him Up,” “The Flyer,” “Scratching The Surface,” and more. Munich has always been like a second home to Saga, and to show their appreciation, the band delivered two hours of prog and melodic hard rock at its best.
Saga’s historical singer Michael Sadler surprised fans when he rejoined the band (which also includes lead guitarist Ian Crichton, bassist/keyboardist Jim Crichton, vocalist/clarinettist/keyboardist Jim Gilmour, and drummer/vocalist Mike Thorne) just a few days prior to the recording of their most recent studio album 20/20 That resulted in critical acclaim (Saga charted in the German top 10), as well as success in cities and countries where they had never been before.
Michael Sadler declares: "After nearly 5 years apart, this show celebrates SAGA as we are, together again. Filmed at the end of our European 20/20 tour, it captures a truly special night among friends. This film not only serves as a reminder to those of us that were there, it also allows others a glimpse of what we do, LIVE."
“We've played Munich for many years, it keeps getting better… Munich, ich liebe dich!!,“ states Ian Crichton.

Follow Eagle Rock Entertainment at:
Follow earMusic at:
Follow SAGA at:
Track Listing:
1. Anywhere You Wanna Go
2. Mouse In A Maze
3. Careful Where You Step
4. The Perfectionist
5. You‘re Not Alone
6. Spin It Again
7. Corkentellis
8. The Flyer
9. Fish Beat
10. Six Feet Under
11. The Cross
12. Time‘s Up
13. Scratching The Surface
14. Tired World (Chapter 6)
15. Humble Stance
16. On the Loose
17. Wind Him Up
18. Framed
19. Don‘t Be Late (Chapter 2)

Def Leppard guitarist Phil Collen side project Manraze to release new EP in November

Music Minded writer George A. Paul has posted an in-depth article on the release of new music from Def Leppard lead guitarist Phil Collen via Manraze. The trio, which also features Sex Pistols drummer Paul Cook and bassist Simon Laffy will issue their new disc Surrender on Nov. 12, 2013. Read the full article here.

No comments: