Wednesday, February 24, 2010

Doves' 'The Places Between: The Best of Doves' coming April 6

I received this earlier today. The Places Between: The Best of Doves is set for release on Astralwerks/Heavenly Recordings on Tuesday, April 6.

Here is the text of the exciting news (if you don't know about this exciting trio, make plans to get this release!):

So here we are, 12 years since Doves formed in Manchester and released the Cedar Room EP on the Casino Records imprint, and 10 years since Doves epochal debut, Lost Souls was released on Astralwerks/Heavenly Recordings. In that time we have been privy to a catalogue of genre-warping singles and a quartet of albums that have forced writers to go back to the thesaurus in search of new superlatives. These are The Places Between, a multi-format Best Of that has cherry picked the best from UK number one albums: The Last Broadcast and Some Cities, last year's critically acclaimed masterpiece, Kingdom Of Rust and their generation defining debut Lost Souls. Indeed, from UK number 3 hit "There Goes The Fear" to the Motown thump of "Black and White Town" and the anthemic morning-after glow of "The Cedar Room." The Places Between has been painstaking sequenced by Jimi, Andy and Jez themselves in the way they want you to experience their last decades work, in short this is the definitive Doves Best Of.
Furthermore, in addition to a host of B sides, rarities, and unreleased tracks that make up the second disc there is asmattering of brand-new recordings, "Blue Water," "Drifter" (featuring Cherry Ghost's Simon Aldred) and the brilliant new single "Andalucia."
The album comes in single disc and multi-disc versions. The tracklistings are as follows:
DISC ONE - The Best Of
1. There Goes The Fear
2. Black and White Town
3. Snowden
4. Here It Comes
5. Words
6. Kingdom Of Rust
7. Sea Song
8. Pounding
9. 10:03
10. Catch The Sun
11. Jetstream
12. The Man Who Told Everything (Summer Version)
13. Andalucia
14. Caught By The River
15. The Cedar Room

DISC TWO - Rarities, B sides and alternate versions
1. Blue Water
2. Eleven Miles Out
3. Rise
4. Darker
5. Push Me On
6. Willow's Song (Bury Version)
7. Valley
8. Northenden
9. M62 Song
10. Drifter
11. Friday's Dust (Capitol Tower Session)
12. Almost Forgot Myself (Demo)
13. Your Shadow Lay Across My Life
14. The Last Son
15. The Sulphur Man
16. At The Tower (Instrumental Edit)
17. Reprise
18. Ambition
19. Firesuite (Noise Version)

DISC THREE (DVD) features the videos for:
The Cedar Room
Sea Song
Here It Comes
Catch The Sun
Man Who Told Everything
There Goes The Fear
Caught By The River
Black and White Town (directors Cut)
Snowden (Live Edit)
Sky Starts Falling
Kingdom Of Rust
Winter Hill

For more information, visit or

1 comment:

鼕鼕家 said...