Friday, February 10, 2017

Sights and Sounds: The Jesus And Mary Chain

So great to see that The Jesus And Mary Chain are set for a full-fledged return! I saw the band at Coachella 10 years ago (in 2007)  and that reunion was fantastic. The group played their best-loved songs, including "Happy When It Rains" and "Just Like Honey," the latter featuring actress-singer Scarlett Johansson on backup vocals...

The Jesus And Mary Chain release new track “Always Sad”

Long-awaited new album 'Damage And Joy' to be released on March 24, 2017 on ADA / Warner Music

Photo by Steve Gullick
The Jesus And Mary Chain have released “Always Sad,” the second new track from their upcoming album, Damage and Joy (out March 24 on ADA / Warner Music). Last December, the band released “Amputation” and confirmed plans for their first new studio album in 18-years.

Fronted by the Reid brothers Jim and WilliamThe Jesus And Mary Chain first reformed to play the Coachella festival back in 2007. Despite regular touring – most notably a 2015 world tour which revisited their landmark album Psychocandy – it took some time before they could agree on a plan to record a much-mooted seventh album.

Work on ‘Damage and Joy’ (a reference to the English translation of schadenfreude) began in September 2015, with producer Youth also contributing bass and diplomacy to proceedings during sessions in LondonDublin and Granada, SpainAlan McGee first confirmed that a new JAMC album was on the way by telling Canada’s CBC Music: “They've made another album! It's a big deal! It's kinda enormous."

The album commences with “Amputation,” in which waves of distorted guitar and Jim’s insouciant vocal delivery collide to create a hypnotic track which addresses his feelings of “being edited out of the whole music business… I felt like a rock ‘n’ roll amputation.”

Other highlights include a refined and re-energised new version of “All Things Must Pass” which previously featured in the TV show ‘Heroes’ and then on ‘Upside Down: The Best of The Jesus and Mary Chain’; and the raw garage-rock of “Facing Up To The Facts” which offers the revealing lyric: “I hate my brother and he hates me / That’s the way it’s supposed to be”.

The album also features performances from the band’s touring drummer Brian Young as well as former Lush bassist Phil King.

‘Damage and Joy’ will be released on digitalCDvinyl and Cassette formats, and pre-orders are currently open. All pre-orders receive an immediate download of “Amputation” and “Always Sad.”

The full album tracklisting -

1.     Amputation
2.     War On Peace
3.     All Things Pass
4.     Always Sad
5.     Songs For A Secret
6.     The Two Of Us
7.     Los Feliz (Blues and Greens)
8.     Mood Rider
9.     Presedici (Et Chapaquiditch)
10.  Get On Home
11.  Facing Up To The Facts
12.  Simian Split
13.  Black And Blues
14.  Can’t Stop The Rock

No comments: