Friday, November 04, 2016

Rock Icons Rush to release documentary 'Rush | Time Stand Still' on November 18, 2016

I just caught the screening of  'Rush | Time Stand Still' last night (Nov. 3, 2016) and it is a wonderful movie. It really captures the special bond between the three members of Rush, as well as the bond between the band and their hardcore fans. I can't recall watching a documentary where somebody didn't die and I still cried at the end. Exciting that the documentary and bonus features are coming to DVD and Blu-ray...

Rock Icons Rush To Release Documentary
Rush | Time Stand Still November 18, 2016
Highly Anticipated Film Chronicles 40th Anniversary Tour;
Narration Provided by Paul Rudd

On November 18, 2016, Zoë Vision, a division of the Concord Music Group, in partnership with ole, will release Rush | Time Stand Still, a feature-length documentary film that provides an intimate look into the legendary rock band's sold-out 40th anniversary tour - possibly their last -- and the unique relationship Rush has with their devoted fans.

Rush drummer Neil Peart 
With more than 40 million records sold worldwide (with 24 gold, 14 platinum, and three multi-platinum albums to their credit), and countless sold-out tours, Rush - comprising Geddy Lee, Alex Lifeson, and Neil Peart - remains one of the most popular, inventive and influential groups in rock history.

During Dave Grohl's rousing speech at the band's induction into the Rock and Roll Hall of Fame in 2013, he noted, "Rush built their following the right way. No hype, no bullshit, they did it from the ground up. Their legacy is incredible and their influence undeniable."

Writing in Rolling Stone a few years ago, critic Chris Norris summed up the renowned rock trio's artistic vitality by observing, "It's true that Rush doesn't mean today what it did in '76 or even '96. It may mean more," and that still holds true today, as evidenced by their fans' singular devotion to the band.
Singer-bassist Geddy Lee, left, sharing stories with
guitarist Alex Lifeson
In 2015, Rush embarked on 35-city tour to commemorate their 40th anniversary. At the time, the R40 tour was rumored to be their last  - an end to Rush's life on the road together. Rush | Time Stand Still follows this farewell journey. Exclusive behind-the-scenes access to the band and crew throughout the tour provide the raw and vivid emotional undertones of this feature-length film, directed by Dale Heslip, and produced by Allan Weinrib,  the team behind the band's live concert films, Rush: R40 Live (2015) and Rush: Clockwork Angels Tour (2013).

 At the film's core are Rush's ardent fans, and their undying dedication and loyalty are on full display as the R40 tour comes to its conclusion at the "Fabulous Forum" in Los Angeles. Their personal stories highlight the importance Rush holds in their lives, and the lasting impressions of their extensive catalog.  The members of Rush are quick to acknowledge the substantial role their fans have played in their success. Candid interviews with Lee, Lifeson and Peart bring Rush | Time Stand Still to an emotional conclusion for a band that built their career the old-fashioned way: one show at a time.

Rush: Time Stand Still
Release date: November 18, 2016
Format: Blu-ray and DVD
Running Time: 1 hour 37 minutes of documentary footage, with an additional 67 minutes of never-before-released bonus content.

Pre-order :

Track Listing:
  1. 1.     When I Was a Kid (3:05)
  2. 2.     It's a Really Hard Life (10:46)
  3. 3.     A Huge Accomplishment (8:26)
  4. 4.     Building R40 (4:57)
  5. 5.     Fan-Tastic (18:57)
  6. 6.     Hello Toronto (9:41)
  7. 7.     "Ride On" Neil (2:31)
  8. 8.     Your Weakest Point (6:43)
  9. 9.     Marathon Not a Sprint (11:04)
  10. 10.  At Road End's (17:00)
  1. 1.     Subdivisions (5:34)
  2. 2.     Superconductor (5:55)
  3. 3.     Show Don't Tell (6:19)
  4. 4.     The Pass (5:14)
  5. 5.     Closer To The Heart (5:05)
  6. 6.     Manhattan Project (5:07)
  7. 7.     Scars (4:49)
  8. 8.     War Paint (5:50)
  9. 9.     Tom Sawyer (5:44)
  10. 10.  2112: Overture / La Villa Strangiato / In The Mood (11:48)
  11. 11.  In The Professor's Warmup (5:34)

About Concord Bicycle Music: 
Concord Bicycle Music is one of the largest independent recorded music and publishing companies in the world. With offices in Beverly Hills, New York, Nashville and Cleveland, Concord Bicycle Music is comprised of Concord Music Group and The Bicycle Music Company. Concord Music Group primarily manages the company's recorded music activities, while The Bicycle Music Company oversees publishing and rights management.

Concord Bicycle Music's portfolio of more than 10,000 active album recordings includes at least 243 Grammy winners and 370 RIAA certified gold, platinum and multi-platinum releases. Concord Bicycle Music's songbook includes over 120,000 copyrighted works and more than 750 Billboard chart hits.

The company's celebrated family of labels includes Bicycle, Concord, Fantasy, Fearless, Hear Music, HighTone, Kidz Bop, Loma Vista, Milestone, Nitro, Prestige, Razor & Tie, Riverside, Rounder, Specialty, Stax, Sugar Hill, Telarc, Vanguard, Vee-Jay and Wind-up.

Concord Bicycle Music is owned by Barings Alternative Investments, Sound Investors, and seventy institutional and individual partners, including forty members of the company's management team.  Barings Alternative Investments is a leading investor in intellectual property assets including music, other copyrights, filmed content and patents and trademarks, with over $7.4 billion in total assets under management. At the forefront of intellectual property valuation, acquisition and utilization, the Concord Bicycle Music investment underscores our partners' belief in the lasting and appreciating global value of superior original entertainment content. 
About ole:
ole is one of the world's foremost music publishing and rights management companies with investments of over $550M. Founded in 2004, with operations in Toronto, Nashville, New York, Los Angeles and London, ole is engaged in IP acquisitions, creative development, and worldwide rights management. The ole catalog includes over 50,000 songs and 60,000 hours of TV and film music across all genres. Copyrights under ole's control include songs recorded by artists such as Rush, Taylor Swift, Timbaland, Backstreet Boys, Beyoncé, Blake Shelton, Britney Spears, Carrie Underwood, Eric Church, Jay Z, Justin Timberlake, Kelly Clarkson, Madonna, Michael Jackson, One Direction and Rihanna. 

ole operates a robust label services arm under the umbrella of ole label services. The division includes noted Rock label, Anthem, the label home of Rush, Big Wreck, Ian Thornley, Steven Page, The Tea Party. Anthem Legacy imprint includes catalog recordings by such artists as Max Webster, Ian Thomas. Included under OLS is red dot, artist development and incubator label that has developed and up-streamed artists including Charlie Worsham, Haley Reinhart, Josh Dorr, Sam Grow, George Canyon and Jordan Davis.

No comments: