Wednesday, September 25, 2013

Sights and Sounds: Jeff Healey Band, New Model Army, Rosanne Cash

Big news today on several high-profile upcoming releases...

New York, NY (September 25, 2013)—Eagle Records is delighted to announce the October 15 release of the Live From NYC album from the Jeff Healey Band on CD and Audio Digital formats.
Live From NYC continues Eagle’s series of gems drawn from the vaults of the Jeff Healey Band. Recorded at The Bottom Line in New York City on December 13, 1988, this early show by the band, follows the release of their debut album See The Light (Arista Records). Several tracks from that album, are included along with classic covers such as ZZ Top’s “Blue Jean Blues” and Cream’s “White Room.”
Jeff Healey had a unique style and presence that was clearly already well developed at this early stage in his career, which Live From NYC captures beautifully. Having lost his sight at the age of one, he crafted himself into a master guitarist, championing the lap pedal-steel style. Able to deftly traverse genre styles with ease, his soulful vocals and instrumental dexterity won the hearts of blues and blues-rock fans worldwide. An incredible talent gone too soon (he passed away in 2008), Jeff Healey created music that still thrills and inspires fans to this day.
Eagle Rock Entertainment has also re-issued the Jeff Healey Band’s Get Me Some and House On Fire, and released Live At Grossman’s 1994 CD and Full Circle – The Live Anthology boxed set.
Eagle Rock Entertainment is the largest producer and distributor of music programming for DVD, Blu-Ray, TV, Audio and Digital Media in the world.  Eagle works directly alongside talent to produce top quality, High Definition and 3D programs, both concerts and documentaries, including The Rolling Stones, Pink Floyd, The Who, Queen, The Doors, Jeff Beck, U2, Peter Gabriel, Paul McCartney and Ozzy Osbourne. Eagle is a Grammy Award winning company and has received over 30 multi-platinum, over 50 platinum and over 90 gold discs, worldwide.  Eagle Rock Entertainment has offices in London, New York, Toronto, Paris and Hamburg.

Follow Eagle Rock Entertainment at:
1) The Better It Gets  
2) Further On Up The Road  
3) My Little Girl         
4) Blue Jean Blues  
5) Confidence Man  
6) I Need To Be Loved  
7) White Room  
8) See The Light  
9) Good Morning Blues   

New Model Army
Between Dog And Wolf
earMusic / Eagle Rock Entertainment
30 September 2013
New Model Army and earMUSIC/ Eagle Rock Entertainment are excited to announce the release of their much-heralded new album 

Between Dog And Wolf
~September 30, 2013~

New York, NY (August 20, 2013)—Experience the passion of UK post punk visionaries New Model Army with the release of their new studio album, Between Dog And Wolf on September 30, 2013, via earMusic / Eagle Rock Entertainment. A rich, vibrant and multi-layered work with a deep and soulful atmosphere, the album promises to be something “very different” from previous releases and demonstrates how the band is enjoying an exciting phase in their long and successful career. [MSRP $13.98]

Originally as a three piece, New Model Army were formed in Bradford, UK in 1980 by Justin Sullivan. With hits like “51st State” and “Vagabonds,” to name just a few, New Model Army built a reputation for dealing with challenging topics in their lyrics such as justice, the meaning of life,nature or grievances in society. The band established themselves as having an uncanny ability to convey and trigger powerful emotions, particularly through the distinctive voice of Justin Sullivan.

Between Dog And Wolf features the current line-up of Sullivan,Michael Dean on drums, Dean White on keyboards, Marshall Gill on guitar and 26-year-old new bass player, Ceri Monger, whose presence has added to the band’s creative and live resurgence. The self-produced set was finished earlier this yearand was mixed by Joe Barresi in his Los Angeles studio, best known for his work with ToolQueens Of The Stone AgeBad Religion and Soundgarden.

“After a series of purist ‘rock-band-in-a-room’ albums over the last eight years, we felt it was time to do something a bit different,” statesSullivan. “Sonically this is the best album we’ve ever made. The title comes from a medieval French expression for dusk – when it’s hard to distinguish between dog and wolf, friend or foe. That sense of contradiction represents the band very well and there’s also something of this sense of transformation in the album. It has been a stormy four years since the release of the last album. With the sudden death of our manager, the loss of our studio in a fire, subsequent theft of remaining equipment and our old bass player Nelson’s departure, we, in essence, lost everything. We used this to make a new beginning and part of the change was effected with the arrival of Ceri and the refreshing energy and musical influences he brought.  We are very excited about the new album and what the future holds for the band.”

Ceri adds  “I have loved New Model Army’s music for many years and am chuffed to be a part of this incredible album.  I think the record is pretty unique and I look forward to hearing what peoplethink when they hear it.”

The album’s stunning artwork is based around a painting by long time artistic collaborator Joolz.

Said Joolz, ”I always hear the albums being created from the first acoustic strum onwards and it quickly became obvious that this album was going to be different in sound from previous records.  Early on Justinsaw some artwork I had designed originally for a tattoo client of mine, an image of Herne the Hunter and the Herlathing, and the primitive tribal paganism of the picture really symbolized to him the heavy pounding drum rhythms and passions that are at the heart of this album.”

Track Listing:
1. Horsemen
2. March In September
3. Seven Times
4. Did You Make It Safe?
5. I Need More Time
6. Pull The Sun
7. Lean Back And Fall
8. Knievel
9. Stormclouds
10. Between Dog And Wolf
11. Qasr El Nil Bridge
12. Tomorrow Came
13. Summer Moors
14. Ghosts

Rosanne Cash
Rosanne Cash to release 'The River & The Thread' in January 2014

Finally, Rosanne Cash will release her first full-length album of new material on Jan. 14, 2014.

Cash wrote all of the album's 11 original songs with her long-time collaborator/husband John Leventhal, who also served as guitarist, producer and arranger. Check out writer George A. Paul's extensive post on the forthcoming project by clicking here.

No comments: