Wednesday, November 14, 2012

DeVotchKa shares new video + releases new album with the Colorado Symphony

Here is one of the highlights of news that landed in my inbox today...



November 13, 2012 sees the release of DeVotchKa's new album, DeVotchKa Live with the Colorado Symphony (Cicero Recordings LTD). The band, a melting pot of genres, forms an authentic and wholly original style of rock 'n' roll. DeVotchKa have been recording and performing for over a decade. "We have been working towards this moment ever since the band began," remembers Nick Urata, lead singer and frontman for DeVotchKa. "We've always had orchestral leanings, we wrote for more and more players with every album, when the chance to perform with an entire symphony came, we jumped at it. We thought it would be the perfect night for a live recording and hope the listener feels like they are in the room with us."

A once in a lifetime opportunity for a band, some of DeVotchKa's most iconic songs were revisited, restructured, and performed with a full 60-piece orchestra. Rather than hire a composer to create the charts for each instrument, the band took it upon themselves, with Tom Hagerman spending months locked away in his garage fleshing out each note that the orchestra performed.

The premise of charting DeVotchKa's songs for a large symphony began shortly after the release of the band's score for the film "Little Miss Sunshine". A critical and box office hit, the film was nominated for the Best Picture Oscar and, for DeVotchKa's soundtrack, a Grammy. The band finally received the attention they deserved around the world, headlining large venues and performing at practically every major music festival, from Coachella to Bonnaroo, Glastonbury to Pukkelpop. The band looks forward to performing with symphonies of all sizes whenever possible.
DeVotchKa Live with the Colorado Symphony gave the band a chance to have every melody, harmony, and counterpoint, recorded in the studio, to be translated to real people, playing the parts together.

Today, the band is proud to share the record in it's entirety, available for purchase via iTunes orAmazon, and streaming in full at rdio. To celebrate its release, the band is sharing the fantastic live video of "All the Sand in All the Sea", as performed with the Colorado Symphony at the Red Rocks  Amphitheater on September 20th, 2012. Watch the video below, alongside all upcoming tour dates for the band.

DeVotchKa is:
Nick Urata: Vocals, guitars, Theremin, trumpet, piano
Jeanie Schroder: acoustic bass, sousaphone
Shawn King: drums, percussion, trumpet
Tom Hagerman: violin, viola, accordion, piano

VIDEO: "All the Sand in All the Sea (Live at Red Rocks w/ the Colorado Symphony"

11/29/12 Santiago, Chile - Common Pitch Chile
12/01/12 Buenos Aires, Argentina - Personal Fest
12/31/12 Anchorage, Alaska - Bear Tooth Theatre and Pub

DeVotchKa Live With the Colorado Symphony 
(Cicero Recordings LTD) 
Nov 13, 2012
1. The Alley
2. The Clockwise Witness
3. Along The Way
4. The Common Good
5. You Love Me
6. All The Sand In All The Sea
7. Firetrucks On The Boardwalk
8. Comrade Z
9. Undone
10. Queen Of The Surface Streets
11. We're Leaving
12. Contrabanda
13. The Enemy Guns
14. How It Ends

No comments: