Monday, September 03, 2012

Inbox Update: Jamey Johnson, The Wallflowers, My Jerusalem

Here is my latest roundup of noteworthy news releases gathered up from my inbox...

Jamey Johnson to kick-off album release with concert at the Ryman Auditorium on Oct. 16

Award-winning singer-songwriter Jamey Johnson will kick-off the release of his new album Living for a Song: A Tribute to Hank Cochran with a special concert event on Oct. 16, 2012.

The night will feature Johnson with a special group of friends at Nashville's historic Ryman Auditorium and will coincide with the street date of the album. Tickets will go on sale Friday, Sept. 7 at 10 a.m. To purchase tickets, please visit

Johnson's next album Living for a Song: A Tribute to Hank Cochran is set for a Sept. 25 release on vinyl, and will include legends Willie Nelson, Merle Haggard, Alison Krauss, Leon Russell, Vince Gill, Emmylou Harris and Ray Price. The album also features Asleep at the Wheel, Elvis Costello, George Strait, Ronnie Dunn, Bobby Bare, Lee Ann Womack, Kris Kristofferson and Cochran himself.

Along with Johnson, they're singing such Cochran hits as "I Fall To Pieces," "Make the World Go Away," "Don't Touch Me," "Would These Arms Be In Your Way" and "A-11."

Sadly, Cochran died at age 74 in 2010; he was considered one of the greatest songwriters in the history of country music.

Visit Johnson's official Web site for more information.

The Wallflowers premiere 'Live from the Artists Den' performance of new single "Reboot the Mission"

New album Glad All Over available for pre-order on iTunes

The Wallflowers recently filmed an episode of Live from the Artists Den at San Francisco's Bimbo's 365 Club, and they've released a video of the band performing "Reboot The Mission," the first single off their new album Glad All Over, which hits stores October 2nd. Stay tuned for more info about the full Live from the Artists Denepisode.

Glad All Over is available now for pre-order on iTunes. Fans that pre-order the album will also get an additional track, "Don't Give Up on Me," on release day.

The Wallflowers rose to fame with their 4x platinum album Bringing Down The Horse,which featured four top charting singles including "6th Avenue Heartache," "One Headlight," "The Difference," and "Three Marlenas." The two-time Grammy Award winners went on to sell over 7 million records worldwide with a series of critically acclaimed albums before going on hiatus in 2007. During the group's break from recording, Jakob Dylan released two solo albums, which also garnered significant praise, 2008's Seeing Things and 2010's Women and Country.

The band recently completed an exclusive club tour of the U.S. giving fans a preview of their highly anticipated sixth studio album.

"Reboot The Mission" Live from the Artists Den performance:
"Reboot The Mission" video:
Glad All Over iTunes pre-order:

For more information (and a free download of "Reboot The Mission") please visit

My Jerusalem announces fall tour; band's 'Preachers' out on Oct. 9 via The End Records

“Nobody ever paid money to see Harry Houdini escape being buried alive” says My Jerusalem founder and singer Jeff Klein. “They wanted the small chance of seeing him killed by the weight of the earth on top of him.”

Behold the concept behind Preachers, the second full-length release from Austin’s My Jerusalem. From the opening piano of the haunting title track, to the unexpected pummeling guitar and drums on closer “I Left My Conscience In You”, Preachers leads the listener on a cinematic journey through a reckless, jagged landscape of Raymond Carver-esque stories, fueled by Klein’s persuasive baritone, ominous guitars, dream-like keyboards and a deep rhythmic pulse.
Recorded in under three weeks by Spoon drummer Jim Eno (Heartless Bastards, Polica, Black Joe Lewis) at his Public Hi-Fi studio, Preachers is the first My Jerusalem album genuinely made by a band, not just performed by a group of musicians. Pushing aside hard drives and laptops to make way for analog tape machines and vintage keyboards, what Klein describes as the “Post-Modern Southern Gothic Soul” sounds of Preachers were born from organic, live performances Eno carefully captured and tweaked.

Preachers is the follow-up to 2010’s critically acclaimed debut, Gone For Good, an album that earned the band performances on BBC Radio 6 and Daytrotter, as well as notices from NPR’s All Songs Considered, AOL/Spinner’s Song of the Day, and the iTunes Weekly Rewind. Along with European festival appearances at the Frequency Festival, Musikfestwochen, and Rock Im Saal, the band toured and played shows with a eclectic set of bands including Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeros, Har Mar Superstar, Avett Brothers, Godspeed You! Black Emperor, and White Arrows.
Buoyed by the success of Gone For GoodPreachers showcases a band headed into the studio with a renewed focus and confidence.
My Jerusalem is:
Jeff Klein – Vocals, Guitar: Jon Merz – Guitar, Keyboards, Horns: Michael St. Clair – Violin, Keyboards, Horns: Geena Spigarelli – Bass: Grant Van Amburgh – Drums

'Preachers' Tracklisting
01  Preachers
02  Shatter Together
03  Born In The Belly
04  Mono
05  This Time
06  Death Valley
07  Devoe
08  Between Space
09  Oh Little Sister
10  Chameleon
11  I Left My Conscience In You

Visit the band's official Web site here for more details.

No comments: